Once upon a time….

Three weeks in and I have 184 pre-orders for ‘Worm, Slug, Maggot & Leech and their Troublesome Transformation’. I’m absolutely over the moon!

Naturally I’ve been thinking back to where this journey began, leading
me last weekend to a little sketchbook hidden in the depths of my arty crafIMG_20140422_0002ty ‘Useful Box’ in the garage: a hoard of wrapping paper tubes, beads and buttons,crayons, empty cartons and paintbrushes, all stored for a chicken pox outbreak or a rainy day. The concept of the ‘Useful Box’ was inherited from my Grandparents. My Grandfather in particular hoarded, composted, reused and recycled decades before it was either trendy or a necessity for us to do so – something I paid tribute to in an illustration produced during my teens entitled “Grandpa’s Garage Shelves’…

Despite my husband’s pleas to clear the garage of my ever expanding Useful Box, I have big plans for summer holiday junk modelling activities in the garden, which I’m desperately trying to preserve whilst ignoring the fact that said junk modelling activities may well nudge my children through their own troublesome transformation into wild, frustrated whirling dervishes tangled in masking tape brandishing glue sticks like spears. Hmmm.

As well as exploring the delights of my Grandparent’s Useful Box and garage shelves, as a child I was never without a book, pen or paper. I could often be found tapping away at an old fashioned typewriter too – one of my early memories was typing lines of random letters and trying to find short 1 or 2 letter words hidden in the jumbled nonsense. Later I used the clunky contraption to produce various tales, often winning competitions for my creations including a personal tour around a lifeboat! Throughout university I wrote occasionally for the student magazine and over the years have had the odd item published here and there in local newsletters, papers and so on.

Illustrating, painting, arts and crafts are also a huge passion. As well as producing artworks for enjoyment, for friends and to sell, I have carried out art workshops with young offenders and led art-based activities at a young people’s summer camp. I am a true believer in the therapeutic side of art – on infinite levels.

For me illustrating and writing go hand in hand – it’s an obvious union, which I took great pleasure in utilising when producing my book.

I digress! Inside the little sketchbook I discovered my earliest ‘doodlings’ produced during a post workplace mediation train commute, originally of Worm, Slug and Maggot, joined later by their dear friend the Leech. I have no recollection of how or why the three became four, nor why Leech was initially absent. Maybe that could be a subject for a sequel?!

Without further ado, here is the real life transformation of Worm, Slug, Maggot and Leech, from a train journey daydream to ‘almost published’.

Thank you again for reading.

 Polly

You can pre-order ‘Worm, Slug, Maggot & Leech and their Troublesome Transformation’ at:

 https://britainsnextbestseller.co.uk/index.php/book/index/WormSlugMaggotandLeech

photo 1

photo 2photo 3photo 5photo 5Scan 9pic

 

Leave a Reply

