An author?! Moi??

My fuzzy head has just about cleared now from the celebrations over the weekend because – in case you missed it – I achieved my pre-order target, which means that my children’s story will be published!!!

My stock phrase for the last few days seems to be ‘I can’t quite believe it’ because quite frankly I can’t. It seems a bit weird to be referred to as an author or an illustrator… for some reason I feel like a bit of a fraud! But a very excited one at that!

Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 13.04.56

So I’m busying myself preparing my illustrations, arranging school visits for book readings whilst wracking my brain about how to now motivate people to continue pre-ordering… after all, this is just the beginning.

If I reach 1000 pre-orders I get a Book PR Package worth up to £2,500. If I reach 5000 pre-orders  I get a Book Marketing Package up to £20,000. It seems impossible now but 250 pre-orders felt pretty scary at the start too.

On top of all that I’m also allowing my mind to drift to thoughts of a sequel for my little characters. Are there any childhood issues that you’d like addressing via a book? Any discussions that you’d like to have which could be introduced through a story? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Once again, thank you. I am truly grateful for your support.

In my next blog I’m going to be writing about my daughter’s incredible magical abilities… You just wouldn’t believe it – we’re surrounded by some amazing ickle beings!

Polly x

‘Worm, Slug, Maggot & Leech and their Troublesome Transformation’ by Polly Walker is available to pre-order for £7.99 at: https://britainsnextbestseller.co.uk/index.php/book/index/WormSlugMaggotandLeech

Leave a Reply

