Britain’s Next Bestseller.

2014 has made me a huge advocate of Britain’s Next Bestseller. Not only for my very obvious personal reasons but because BNBS is a publisher with a difference – empowering the reader, empowering the author, fulfilling dreams, unearthing a generation of talented new authors and their literary delights, supporting those less privileged than us. Yes that’s right – did you know that BNBS donates 1% of every successful book project to charitable activities? Hope for Children in the UK benefits, so does The Hope Acadmey for Girls in Sierra Leone. The supportive hand of BNBS is far reaching:

https://britainsnextbestseller.co.uk/index.php/sites/giving_back

I set out on my exciting journey with BNBS at the beginning of this year. At the same time a number of other authors were embarking on the same journey – children’s writers; non-fiction works of self help and personal development were included; so were thrillers, fantasy and horror, all aiming to achieve a pre-order target and secure the elusive publishing deal.

Last week my publishing contract became very real when my friends, family, colleagues, contacts – my wonderful supporters – began to receive their pre-ordered copies. You shared your thoughts by email, Facebook, Twitter, text – and the pictures came thick and fast. I even got my first Amazon review – 5 stars too! – and more followed! Today my book is on the shelf in Waterstones, Hemel Hempstead. WOW. It has been an amazing week. I wish I could bottle that feeling forever. I can’t, but I will never forget it. (I also wish I could’ve made the celebratory box of chocolates from my dear husband last a bit longer too but unfortunately I couldn’t do that either….)

photo-164

The yummy chocolates weren’t all that I was in receipt of last week. Like those excitedly clutching their copies of WSML fresh off the press, I was also excitedly clutching two new children’s publications by fellow BNBS authors:

Mrs Vyle: Children Should be Eaten and not Heard! by James Hallsworth (A truly horrid tale!)

MrsVyle

The Amazing Adventures of Roddy the Magic Cat (Mount Everest, Nepal) by Sarah Bates

AmazingAdventuresRoddyMagicCatThese books are very special to me because of the journey they have been on to reach publication. But as well: Mrs Vyle takes me back to my teaching days on so many levels, hilarious memories, revolting memories, teachers with a ‘difference’. Roddy visits one of my most favourite places on earth, and reading of his adventure through the Everest region of Nepal to the world’s highest mountain amongst Buddhist communities, the gentle Nepalese, clean air and prayer flags, stirred so much nostalgia in me. They are fantastic works, delightful offerings for our curious, imaginative children.

If you would like to know more about these wonderful books, I am going to review them in more detail in my next blog post. I may even attempt to get my daughter in on the book-reviewing act again… In the meantime, they are available to order on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mrs-Vyle-Children-Eaten-Heard/dp/1906954828/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amazing-Adventures-Roddy-Magic-Cat/dp/1906954844/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410896061&sr=1-1&keywords=roddy+the+magic+cat

And so is Worm, Slug, Maggot and Leech:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Maggot-Leech-their-Troublesome-Transformation/dp/1906954801/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410897214&sr=1-1&keywords=worm+slug+maggot+and+leech

Thank you again for reading.

Polly x

Leave a Reply

