My #littleloves: Hands Free, Shortbread and Meditation.

Hello! Happy happy Friday to you. I’ve been trying to put a blog together for days now and have been really struggling… is that Blogger’s Block?! I’ve lurched from writing about Miley Cyrus and daughters, to the earthquake in Nepal, to my health ‘issues’, but I just can’t seem to pull it all together. It’s so much easier and nicer to write about my #littleloves for this week….

Read:

I love this site: http://www.handsfreemama.com There are so many beautiful and inspiring quotes and snippets of advice for parents. My favourite is the list of ideas of how to salvage a bad morning. We’ve all been there – the stressy dash out of the house, following by the lingering guilt for being such a nag. There are some lovely, yet simple, ideas of how to save the day! My favourite is:

If someone is grumpy, let her do something you usually do like pour the milk from a small pitcher, add the brown sugar to the oatmeal, or decorate a sticky note to put in a family member’s lunchbox or briefcase.

Heard:

Every evening I hear the tranquil sounds of Elodee’s meditation for kids CD drifting from her bedroom as she drifts off to sleep. She loves listening to this soothing relaxation journey at bedtime, and each evening she is asleep before the disc ends. Sometimes I lie with her and listen to it and find myself dozing off whilst visualising myself calmly floating through the night sky….

MI0002965734

 

 

 

 

 

 

Watched:

I watched the girls spend over an hour sitting on the driveway in the sunshine cleaning a huge box of Granny’s old toys. They scrubbed with cloths and old toothbrushes and soap suds and thoroughly enjoyed the task at hand! They seem to really embrace getting involved in tasks like this.

IMG_6887

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wore:

This beautiful feather necklace that I received on Mother’s Day. I’ve only just started wearing it though as I was ill in bed for so many weeks! I’ve also worn a great big smile after getting the best recovery plan from my neurologist: lots of lying down and caffeine for a couple more weeks! Can you believe it?! I am feeling so relieved, and incredibly grateful.

IMG_6885

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Made:

Paigey and I made shortbread.

IMG_6886

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s SO easy and absolutely delicious. A perfect cooking activity to do with a little one! This is the recipe:

4 oz soft butter

2 oz caster sugar

1 tablespoon of milk

6 oz plain flour

Sieve the flour into a bowl. Stir in the sugar, then rub the butter, flour and sugar with your fingers. Add the milk. Form a ball of dough with your fingers. Make shapes! Bake for 15 – 20 minutes until they are a pale golden colour at 350˚F / 180˚C.

And finally:

Have a wonderful early May Bank Holiday. I hope the sun shines for you!

Thank you for reading.

Polly x

littleloves

 

 

 

 

If you enjoyed this, why not head over to Amazon and check out my children’s book:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1906954801

You can also check out my book news and latest artworks at:

www.facebook.com/pollymwalker

and

Twitter: @pollymwalker

14 thoughts on “My #littleloves: Hands Free, Shortbread and Meditation.

  1. Don’t children just love washing things??! It’s the simplest activities that keep them the most entertained! Bloggers block is a definite thing I think. I hope you’ve broken it now! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend xx

    • frompollywithlove says:

      Yes and sorting things! If ever we’re stuck for an activity we sort or clean. Sounds so boring but they love it! Have a lovely weekend too xx

    • frompollywithlove says:

      I meant to say that you can add half an ounce of cocoa powder to it too for a yummy chocolate version. They don’t last very long in our house. Enjoy! xx

  2. The necklace is gorgeous what a lovely gift! My hubby’s favourite is shortbread but I’m not very good at baking-I may trust you that it’s easy and give it a go! Enjoy your rest and caffeine and have a lovely weekend x

  3. We like making shortbread too! I was surprised by how easy it is to make. Doesn’t last long once it comes out of he oven though 😳!

    Great idea to get the kids to clean their own toys. I may have to employ this tactic! xx

  4. Oh my, I love your feather necklace, it’s so beautiful!
    My girls are just the same with tasks like washing toys, they love it. So funny.
    Hope you’re having a good week xx

Leave a Reply

